Topic: Employment Law and Employee Benefits
July 2021
PDF Article

As a result of a law enacted in 2019, New Jersey’s minimum wage will increase gradually, to at least $15.00 an hour. Not all employees will reach the $15.00 level at the same time.

In addition, as a result of a law enacted in 2020, “long-term care facility direct care staff members” must receive a minimum wage that is $3.00 higher than New Jersey’s then-current minimum wage for large employers.

This article explains how the changes to the minimum wage will be implemented.

The article also sets forth the occupations and situations were employers need not pay the minimum wage to employees.

Download PDF