Legal Alert: New NYS Department of State Reporting Requirements

We want to make you aware of new NYS filing requirements for charitable organizations: As of January 1, 2021, NY Executive Law 172-b requires certain charitable organizations to file their CHAR 500 documents not only with the NYS Charities Bureau, but also with the NYS Department of State (DOS). This includes sending the DOS the…

Read Full Post

Legal Alert: What Nonprofit Employers Need to Know About Mandatory Vaccinations and the New Stimulus Law

Initial Thoughts on Mandatory Vaccination Programs There currently is no clear national guidance on mandatory vaccinations (though that may soon change), so employers have several options and issues to consider. Several of our law firm partners have written helpful articles, each with its unique assessment of the situation. You can find that collection here. Employment…

Read Full Post

Legal Alert: Connecticut Paid Family Medical Leave Program

Register Now for Paid Family Medical Leave Program Payroll Deductions Begin January 1, 2021 The State of Connecticut has enacted a new Paid Family Medical Leave (PFML) program. PFML allows eligible employees working in Connecticut the opportunity to take paid leave to address personal or family needs. PFML establishes a new payroll deduction, and makes certain…

Read Full Post

Legal Alert: New York Minimum Wage & Minimum Weekly Salaries for Some Employees Increase on December 31

On December 31, 2020, the New York minimum wage, and the minimum weekly salary threshold for the executive and administrative exemptions under New York State wage and hour law, will each increase as follows: Minimum Wage Minimum Weekly Salary for Executive & Administrative Exemption (regardless of number of hours worked) Employers in NYC: $15/hour (No…

Read Full Post

Legal Alert: New Jersey Minimum Wage to Increase in November and January & Mandatory Notices Reminder

Nonprofits should note that New Jersey’s minimum hourly wage will increase on January 1, 2021, to $12.00 for employees of large employers and $11.10 for employees of small and seasonal employers. Moreover, as of November 1, 2020, “direct care staff members” in long-term health facilities are to receive a minimum wage that is $3.00 higher…

Read Full Post

Legal Alert: Connecticut Extends Deadline for Sexual Harassment Prevention Training Compliance

The Connecticut Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities has extended the deadline for Connecticut employers to complete sexual harassment prevention training for their workforce to January 1, 2021. Previously, Connecticut state law required employers to complete training of all employees by October 1, 2020. Please click here to see our previous legal alert for more information. Questions…

Read Full Post